Two more reasons why I do what I do.

1. As many of you know the CFA Institute runs an annual Global Investment Challenge. The Challenge requires teams to analyse a public company, with mentoring by a professional research analyst and faculty, writing an equity research report and presenting their work to a high profile panel of experts, who are frequently  Chief Investment Officers at large money management firms.  I am pleased to report that the SDSU team of four students, Vineet Singh (Team Captain), Duy Ho, Omar Torres and Eduardo Ciuffo won the San Diego round of this Challenge. All four students also currently serve as student managers of the Aztec Equity Fund. Four other local schools competed, UCSD, USD, CSU-SM and PLNU.  Our team proceeds to New York City in April for the Americas Round and then the Global Finals. The local chapter of the CFA Society will cover their travel expenses. Congratulations, guys!

2.  After class the other day a student comes up to me and says, ” you don’t teach like any of my other professors. After listening to you, I want to go to the library and study!” Since you will tease him,  I DARE NOT SPEAK HIS NAME. All I can say is cram lazy uri and thanks once again.

